PLASTIC LID AND CD VOTIVE HOLDERS

Yes, it is yet another plastic lid project! If you have ever had the joy of discovering a new way to use something that you were going to throw-away, then you have experienced at least half of my joy in this project. The other half of my joy in this instance is that I was also able to make something beautiful as well as functional! With another handful of small, hard plastic lids and some old CDs, together with paint, glue and felt, I will show you how to make very classy-looking votive candle holders. These would be an expensive way to make nice table decorations for parties and receptions.

For some time I have thought there must be something that I could do with the lids from the Tropicana juice containers. They have a lovely shape with little arches all along the edge. I began to play around with them and discovered the lid from a gallon of milk would fit perfectly inside the threaded section on the underside. I also discovered that a standard straight-sided glass votive candle holder would exactly fit inside the circumference of and up-side-down Tropicana juice lid! This led to me stacking other lids to see if I could make a base for the Tropicana lid. The result of all these experiments turned out to be surprisingly pretty.

The lids I am using in this article are the lids that I had on hand, but feel free to experiment with others and use my design as a springboard for your imagination. Each holder that I made requires one large (not the personal size) Tropicana juice lid that has the arch-shaped cuts along the edge (this is the light orange-colored lid in the photo), and one standard screw-style milk jug lid. The two white lids pictured are lids from buttermilk containers, and the red one is from a Boost container. I don’t remember what brand of buttermilk these lids came from, but MacArthur dairy products have similar lids.

Originally, when I was stacking the lids to see which ones I liked, I had a hard time keeping the stacked buttermilk lids from sliding around. I knew that I would be gluing them into position, but since the project would ultimately be involve a flame, I wanted to make the base a little heavier and more secure. I kept testing various lids until I found that the lid from a container of Boost was the right size to fit inside the buttermilk lid and extend above the top edge enough to have the second buttermilk lid fit down over it. It actually extend a little bit too far above the first lid and its height kept the two buttermilk lids from touching. So I trimmed the Boost lid down some until it was the right height to lock the lids in place in a stacked position while allowing them to touch. I glued these lids together in this position. I also glued the milk lid right-side-up inside the circle on the bottom of the Tropicana lid and then glued the buttermilk lid assembly to the up-side-down Tropicana lid. Then I let it dry.

I painted the lids a uniform color with a spray paint formulated for plastic. The photo here shows the lids being painted a black color, but I also made a set in white. I recommend using a textured paint. I originally used a flat white paint on the white set I was making, but I really wanted more of a festive look, so I added a top coat of gloss with a glitter added. This looked much better and gave it a much more expensive look.

The holders were only lacking the glass votive cups and the candles themselves to be functional, but I wanted to try one more thing. I wanted to see if I could insert pieces of old CD to the arch-shaped sections of the lids. This turned out to be the hardest part of the project, but it was what turned it into a true work of art! Using a heavy pair of scissors, I cut small, slightly-tapered rectangles from the old CDs. The pieces were about an inch by a half inch. The bottom of each inverted arch is slightly narrower than the top, which is why I had to taper the bottoms. In order for the pieces to slide into the arch-shaped openings, I had to cut them in half long-ways so that they could follow the curve of the lid. This caused them to bow outward slightly in a plow shape, but was pretty in its own way. I put a bit of glue behind the CD pieces to hold them in place.

Pleased with the way the holders had turned out, my final step was to add some felt to the bottoms to keep them from scratching the surfaces that rested upon. It was hard to wait for the glue to dry so that I could add the glasses and candles!

Finally, I was able to use them. Here are both paint options I tried photographed together with a vase I also made from CDs. Pretty amazing for trash!

The Bible says that as a Christian my life is to be a witness of who Christ is and what He has done for me. It tells me to “let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven” Matthew 5:16. While the light is the most important thing about a candle, it is also true that the manner in which a candle is presented can enhance or detract from the overall effect of the light. The light from an elevated, secured candle viewed through a clean glass sheds much more light than one hidden “under a bushel” Matthew 5:15. Like the candle holders in this project, every aspect of my life -my conversation, attitudes, actions clothes, hobbies, etc.- provide a platform from which the world views my Saviour. Am I living so as to lift Him up and display The Light, or is my glass dirty; the holder shabby and in need of repair? When I look at my candle holders, may they serve as a reminder to me that I want my life to “…adorn the doctrine of God our Saviour in all things” Titus 2:10b.

 

This entry was posted in New Life for Plastic Lids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to PLASTIC LID AND CD VOTIVE HOLDERS

  1. Sherry Franklin says:

    neat ideas!

  2. Nisha Brinda says:

    Lovely creation. You are so creative. I really love your creations a lot. I have similar hobbies just like you šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

