DISH SOAP LID TASSEL

This is another of my hard plastic lid projects! This time, I started with the squirt-style lid from a liquid dish-soap container. These lids are intriguing because they have both a pleasing shape and an opening though the middle of the lid which can be closed off. The stacked shape of the lid made me think of the top of a tassel, so I wondered if I could make a tassel out of it.

Tassels are generally decorative. Unless they add disguised weight to something or are attached to a small object to make it easier to find, they rarely serve any other purpose than to provide visual interest. But if you would like to make them inexpensively, this lid can help!

When I turned this lid over its open position, I noticed four openings in the center of the underside  which originally allowed the soap to exit the bottle. This is where I wanted to attach my hanging loop for my tassel. Since I wanted an inexpensive, homespun look for my tassel, I took out my kitchen twine and cut off four strands long enough to pass through the openings, be braided together, be doubled over, and pass back through the openings again. I only passed two strands together through two of the holes to begin with. After I had braided the strands together, I pulled the ends of the strands, two-at-a-time, back through the remaining two openings. Using a floss threader (a loop of fishing line might also work) made it much easier to thread the string through. Once all four strands were in place, I closed the spout to hold them in place.

The next step was to cut the strands for the bottom of the tassel. Personal taste dictated both the length and the fullness. After I had cut all the strands that I wanted, I divided them into two sections. With the center of the first section marked, I put the center on the bottom of the lid and used two sections of the ends of the loop strands (on opposite sides from each other) to tie the first section firmly into place.  This left the other two sections of loop stands under the bundle I had just tied into place. I wanted to be able to use those to tie the second section of tassel strands into place, so I pulled the remaining loop strand ends through the middle of the each side of the first section so that they were visible again. Then I place the second section of  tassel strands perpendicular to the first section and tied it in place as seen in the above photo. If I had wanted to add weight to this tassel, I would have added a string of fishing weights in on top of the second section before I tied it in place, but I did not need this tassel to be weighted.

The final step was to disguise the lid. I could have painted it before I started on the project, but I wanted to cover it in such a way as to make it not look like a lid at all. To match my humble kitchen string, I wrapped a scrap of burlap around the larger bottom portion of the lid and glued it in place. I covered the top section with a spiral of more string. When the glue on the string had dried, the color of the string was very close to that of the burlap! The final touch was a small scrap of lace for contrast. My family declared the effort a success even though they knew to look for something recycled and could identify the lid I had used. What do you think? Would a casual observer to my home be able to spot the up-cycling? 🙂

He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: also he hath set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end. Ecclesiastes 3:11

This entry was posted in New Life for Plastic Lids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DISH SOAP LID TASSEL

  1. Ben N says:

    Tassel looks great!

Leave a Reply

