GIFT BOXES UPDATE

Yes, I did make a few more gift boxes for the Christmas season. I keep a sharp lookout throughout the year for good boxes to make into gift boxes. Some of these I use for birthday boxes, but most of them end up as Christmas boxes. Since I have done this for a number of years, I have accrued a number of these boxes and have a good idea of the sizes I have and what I still need. I cannot tell you how nice it is each Christmas to be able to just go to my stash of boxes, select the size I need, and have the gift wrapped in under five minutes!

I will show you a couple of the ones that I made this year. I made this first one from a large shoe box that was already gray. There was some writing on it, but it was minimal, and my first thought was to use sponged-on silver paint to cover the letters. While the paint did make the box look more festive, it did not completely cover the lettering, so I was forced to consider another option. Since the lettering was along the sides and on the top of the lid, I decided to use some ribbon and a wintery scene that I had cut from an old calendar in colors that matched the box.  I try to keep the top of my boxes flat so that I can stack gifts if I need to, so I added a bow to the side of the lid where it would not be in the way. The ability to stack the boxes is an important feature if you travel and need to take the gifts with you, and makes storing the boxes much easier.

I have also learned over time to be more open-minded about what will make a good gift box. My children often request books for Christmas, and it has been difficult to find boxes that are large and thin.  My daughter had requested an illuminated letter kit many years ago and eventually decided to store the materials in a different container. Knowing how I recycle most things, she dutifully brought me the discarded packaging for my consideration. I immediately saw potential in this because it was the size I needed for books. I neglected to take a picture of the box before I began, but if you click on the above link, you can see what it looks like. The box completely opened up flat and was held together by a flap with a Velcro closure. It also had a raised square section inside which I removed. This left an unsightly white spot on the inside, but I had a piece of scrapbook paper that was close to the interior color and I used that to cover it up.  Magnet tape helped to hold the top and bottom flaps in place and left me only needing to cover the outside.

When I considered the outside of the box, I thought I might be able to leave the illuminated lettering on the flap as part of the box’s decoration, but it was just too busy to go with anything else, so I ended up covering all the exterior surfaces with gold tissue paper that I allowed to remain crinkled. For decoration, I went back through my stash of old Christmas cards and found this one with gold lettering which matched my tissue paper. I have found that using the cards with Scripture verses on them is a great way to keep everyone thinking about the real Reason we celebrate Christmas. I had some used burgundy tissue paper I had saved, and I glued it underneath the trimmed card to made it stand out. This looked lovely, but it also looked a little lopsided. Imagine my delight when I remembered seeing this tasseled gold-and-burgundy cording in my stash of saved Christmas bows. I had never known quite what to do with it, but I saved it anyway since it seemed a shame to throw out trim! I am glad I didn’t throw it away now since it was the perfect addition to this gift box, which I will now have on hand for future Christmases.

This entry was posted in New Life for Cardboard, New Life for Misc. Items, New Life for Paper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

