OLD YARN, NEW HOT PADS

While I was in the process of making new denim pot holders, I also looked into making some hot pads to protect the table while the food is being served. At home, I normally just press my pot holders into doing double duty, but I wanted to make some nicer ones for our church so that we could protect the table and still have our hot dishes in a serving line. That is when I found this sweater. It was somewhat dated, but the yarn was very nice and made of natural fibers. It looked like a good candidate for using on a loom so I took the sweater apart.

Using two strands of yarn at a time on a Martha Stewart loom, I wove the yarn into a rectangle large enough to hold a 9 x 13 inch casserole dish. However, I did not stop with one layer of fabric. Without removing the first layer that I had made, I threaded a second layer of warp threads above it and wove a second rectangle. Then I used a crochet hook to bind the edges of both layers together as I removed them from the loom. This formed a very nice pad that was thick enough to protect the tables, washed well, and did not give any indication of its former life.

Since there were four different colors in the original sweater, I was able to make each hot pad look a little different by changing the colors of the yarn that I combined. As hard as it was for me to believe, I was able to get four 9 x 13 inch pads of a double thickness, plus two smaller pot holders (also double thick), from a single sweater!

This entry was posted in New Life for Sweater Yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OLD YARN, NEW HOT PADS

  1. Pingback: UP-CYCLED YARN PROJECTS REPORT | New Life, New Purpose

Leave a Reply

