UP-CYCLED FUNNEL SCOOP

DSCF6811I generally buy my coffee in a large container because it is cheaper that way, but because I have limited space in my cabinets, I store that container on a high shelf and transfer a portion of the coffee into my lovely glass canisters. Every time that I have had to do this in the past, I have had to pull out a funnel and spoon to make the transfer. Even then, I always got coffee grounds sprinkled all over my counter tops! Today, I tried a new idea. I cut the handle from my empty laundry detergent bottle into the shape in the above photo and cleaned all residue of soap from it. By scooping the coffee and tilting the handle down into my jars, I was able to avoid the funnel and spoon. Cleanup was easy. I just left the new scoop in the large container to be used the next time I need to transfer more coffee!  I probably will cut a new scoop the next time I empty another laundry bottle, but as an improvement on this design, I will leave a higher section of plastic on the back of the scoop to help funnel the coffee down the handle.

This entry was posted in New Life for Plastic Containers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to UP-CYCLED FUNNEL SCOOP

  1. Anonymous says:

    great idea!

  2. Pat says:

    What a brilliant idea for a transfer scoop. I suppose you could also use a milk jug, too.

Leave a Reply

