WEAVING A FREE HAT ON THE HOME-MADE LOOM

As I mentioned in the article I originally wrote on making and using the loom, I did have a little bit of yarn left over that I thought would be enough to make another baby hat. I could have made another hat like the ones that I had already made, but I wanted to try a new design; one that made a sort of pillbox hat with a woven top. I wanted to see if my loom would hold up if I used it differently than the standard knitting. I was very pleased with the effort. Using two strands of yarn together to load the warp threads, I cut and secured the ends, then reattached the yarn to weave in the weft strands. The loom became a little mis-shapen  by the tension on the yarn, but it did not seem to be a problem, so I kept going. I used a standard knit stitch (not an e-wrap) to knit up the sides. I used up all the leftover yarn that I had to make the sides and form a roll-style brim. Then I removed the hat from the loom and finished off all the loose yarn ends. I added the flower to the side just to add some flair. It turned out to be a very cute pillbox hat for a newborn, but I discovered that this design could be more than just a hat! When I turned it over, it was just the right size to cover an empty sour cream container. This allows it to be a wonderful cover for containers being used as desk caddies, catch-alls, gifts, or to hold small potted plants. Change the decoration on the side or leave it plain to suit the purpose and surroundings.

This entry was posted in New Life for Sweater Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

