STABILIZER FOR CAR TRAVEL

The last several weeks have been very busy for me with holiday preparations, travel, and guests. I hope to be able to get back to crafting and posting soon, but for now, I wanted to share another use I found for packing peanuts. I was searching for a way to safely transport a pie on a road trip so that it would not slide around and tip when I made turns.  I discovered that if I put some packing peanuts in a plastic bag and closed the end, I could form the peanuts to cover the other items in the cargo bay and nestle the pie in on top. This pie did not require refrigeration and was not full of liquid, but even if it had, the peanut-filled bag could have been placed into a cooler to help insulated it, and the plastic bag would have allowed for easy clean up should the pie have leaked. I think that even a squishy pillow could have been pressed into service for this task, but the packing peanuts did an excellent job. The pie did not move the entire trip! It makes me wonder what other things I could stabilize with packing peanuts for car travel.

This entry was posted in New Purpose for Misc. Items. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to STABILIZER FOR CAR TRAVEL

  1. Pat says:

    That’s a great idea and so friendly to the environment! I love your site.

  2. I’m so glad to have discovered your blog – you rock! Fantastic ideas – living frugally but well is the best.

Leave a Reply

