SHOPPING BAG BASKET

I have always liked big, pot-bellied baskets, but I never thought of making one until recently. I did not really have a pattern in the shape that I was looking for, but, since the materials were free, I knew I could do some experimentation! I began by preparing my plarn. Then I began crocheting in a flat circle until I reached the size that I wanted the bottom of my basket to be. Then I started up the sides. I had used a half double crochet stitch on the bottom, but on the sides, I alternated between a single crochet and a double crochet. I also added evenly spaced additional stitches on the first two or three rows from the bottom to give the basket it’s pot-bellied look. About half-way to the height that I wanted the basket to have, I began to remove these stitches until the mouth of the basket was back to the size of the base. To decorate the top edge and strengthen it, I used a reverse single crochet (crab stitch). With the basket itself complete, I turned my attention to the problem of adding handles. I deliberated about how to put handles on the basket and what kind of handle would look good with the style of the bottom. I finally decided to twist the plarn into a rope and sew it in place. I really liked the way this looked. It gave the basket character! Even though I have been working with  shopping bags for some time now, I am still amazed at how good the finished product can look!

This entry was posted in New Life for Plastic Shopping Bags and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SHOPPING BAG BASKET

  1. Gretchen says:

    I love this idea! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Barbara Henson says:

    I had not thought of making a plarn laundry basket till now. Another plarn project to add my other plarn items. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

