NEW PURPOSE FOR CONTACT PAPER BACKING

I did not post this when I posted the other things that I did with our VBS group this year because it dealt more with duct tape than with anything recycled, but I think that it is worth mentioning as a re-purposing option. I had decided to make duct-tape wallets with our youth because it went well with the VBS race car theme and I could get the tape in the black and white checkered-flag design. The instructions for making them are all over the Internet if you are interested. The ones we made are pictured below.

The problem that I had in trying to do this craft was that I had to have some way of achieving it in twenty-minute segments. This seemed to indicate that it would be better to hand each teen a sheet of duct tape pieces that had already been cut to the correct size. But a sheet of what? I tried the cereal bag plastic that I save and wax paper, but the tape ripped both of them to shreds when you tried to remove it to do the craft. The answer came to me while I was putting contact paper on the place mats. The backing sheet from the contact paper was designed to hold plastic with adhesive on it so why not tape? I tried it and it worked wonderfully! Now I keep some of the backing paper on hand, because I never know when I will need to use to hold duct tape.

This entry was posted in New Purpose for Misc. Items. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NEW PURPOSE FOR CONTACT PAPER BACKING

  1. Hi, I'm just loving your blog. will be referring to your blog often. Thanks for the great ideas.

  2. "Snow" White says:

    I am so glad that you are enjoying this. I am pressed for time at present, but I do hope to get back to my projects as soon as possible. 🙂

Leave a Reply

