FREE LAZY SUSAN

In an age of technology that allows us to prepare meals in a matter of minutes, it is amazing that some simple, age-old designs are still in use in the modern kitchen, but such is the case. The misnamed lazy Susan is one such item that is in no way high-tech, but continues to be much used in kitchens everywhere.

Remarkably, a lazy Susan can be made from items you probably have on hand, and it’s not at all difficult to put together. All that is required is a large vegetable spread lid, a Cool Whip container lid, some jute twine, a brass paper fastener, and some beads from old costume jewelry. If you want to make a different sized lazy Susan, different lids can be substituted for the ones I have suggested as long as one lid fits slightly inside the other. I started by removing the printing on the side of the spread lid using finger nail polish remover.

In order to eventually make the two lids stay together to form the lazy Susan, I made a hole in the center of the Cool Whip lid by heating an ice pick over a candle until it was hot enough to melt though the plastic. Having the center already marked is one of the delightful bonuses of working with plastic lids! I wanted the hole to be large enough to allow the paper fastener to spin freely but small enough to prevent the head of the fastener from slipping through.

Costume jewelry beads that either have chipped paint or have come unstrung are a wonderful resource for this project! The only thing that truly matters is that the beads be large enough sit comfortably in the groove of the Cool Whip lid and extend up above the edge of the lid in height. There also needs to be enough of them to completely fill the groove.

To keep the beads in the groove of the Cool Whip lid, I needed to build up a “wall” on the inside. I removed the beads long enough to glue a length of twine around the inside edge of the groove, making sure that the twine was far enough from the beads that it would not prevent them from rolling. Then I glued a second layer of twine on top of the first. After the glue dried, I inserted the paper fastener up through the center and replaced the beads in the groove.

Next, I took the spread lid and made a slit (not a hole) just long enough to allow the paper fastener to pass through in the center. I did this because I wanted the paper fastener to move with this top lid and spin only in the bottom lid. Finally, I pushed the paper fastener through the slit and opened it up so that it held the two lids together and kept the beads in place while still being loose enough not to cause unnecessary friction in the center when the top lid turned.

At this point, the lazy Susan is finished and ready to use. It can be used to help in the icing of cakes, give access to small spaces, or hold condiments in the center of the table so that everyone can reach them. All that is required is to find a suitable top piece. A plate works well or even the cast-off lid to an old tin works well. In the photo on the left, I have turned a tin lid up-side-down on top of the lazy Susan to hold spices. The neat thing is that if you do not know to look for it, you can not tell that this lazy Susan is home-made!

This entry was posted in New Life for Misc. Items, New Life for Plastic Lids. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to FREE LAZY SUSAN

  1. Why do you need the beads? I don’t understand the purpose of this part. Thanks.

    • The beads are what support the top lid (and the plate you place on top of the lazy Susan) and allow it to spin. The bottom lid does not move. Without the beads, the top lid would sit directly on the bottom lid and there would be too much friction for it to spin. I hope this helps. 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Excellent DIY! I stay in India and am looking for a good number of lazy susans to keep all over the place. But the things I get here are not for me.Your idea is great and costs almost nothing! Thanks a lot for sharing !

  3. Vijaya says:

    Excellent DIY! But doesn’t the jute twine cause friction? Please explain. Thanks a lot for sharing!

    • The jute twine is only to keep the beads in their track. The way to cut down on friction between the twine and the lid is to make sure that the twine is sitting lower than the beads. The lid should rest on the beads and not touch the twine. I hope this helps!

  4. leila says:

    Thank you very much. I made this simple lazy Susan. My kitchen is organized. I am planning to make others for the shoes. Once again big thank you.

  5. Thanks for this! I found it when I searched for “lazy susan substitute”.

    I figure out why it never came up months ago when I searched for “diy lazy susan”, “make lazy susan”, “homemade lazy susan” etc.

  6. “can’t figure out why”, I mean.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I loved your diy, but I have one question… Which lid that you are using is the bigger one? The one that goes on top or on the bottom?

  8. Your idea makes me wonder if this concept will work with larger ‘lids’ … as in a Home Depot 5 gallon bucket lid … using marbles vice beads, etc…

Leave a Reply

