DRYER LINT-PART TWO- FIRE STARTERS

Since dryer lint is so flammable, I thought I would try my hand at a basic fire starter for use in a fireplace. I began with a disposable waxed paper cup from a restaurant. I cut it down to about an inch and a half high and cut the top of the cup up into little pieces. I put the cut-up pieces into the bottom of the cup and put a wad of dryer lint in on top. I then pushed a short piece of candle wick down through the center of the lint and bits of paper. To make the fire starter work better and hold together as one piece, I melted down a small candle stub and poured the wax over the lint. (I removed the wick that came from the melted candle.) I did not fill the cup up with the wax, but I did endeavor to thoroughly soak the dryer lint. After the wax had hardened, I took the fire starter outside, set it in a pie tin, and set in on fire. I lit the wick, but I think that the wick is probably not necessary. Just setting the match down in the center would be sufficient to set it ablaze. I watched this thing burn for sixteen minutes! Plenty of time for the rest of the kindling in the fire place to catch. Even with the addition of the wax, the fire starter was still very light weight and would be good to take along on a camping trip to make starting the campfire very easy.


Watching the materials in this project go up in smoke, I was reminded of I Corinthians 3:11-15, “for other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if any man build upon this foundation gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, stubble; every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is. If any man’s work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward. If any man’s work shall be burned, he shall suffer loss: but he himself shall be saved; yet so as by fire.” It is sobering to think that all the things that are done in this life will one day pass through the fires of testing in the throne room of God. The things that are done selfishly and for personal glory will be burned up like the lint in my fire starter, leaving only the ashes of shame and remorse. Only those things that are done for His glory will remain. How amazing that God is willing to reward my feeble efforts to bring Him glory! In future, I hope dryer lint will remind me to choose activities and attitudes that will bring praise and glory to my Redeemer!

This entry was posted in New Purpose for Misc. Items. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DRYER LINT-PART TWO- FIRE STARTERS

  1. Kris says:

    I love the lint ideas – I can't wait to try them!

  2. You come up with the neatest things! I love following your blog. Linda

Leave a Reply

