CARDBOARD AND DRESS SHIRT NOTE BOARD

Note boards are wonderful tools in the battle against chaos, and they can be made so inexpensively that, if you desire, you can have one in every room of the house! The basic materials needed are cardboard, fabric, craft glue, scissors, a stapler, and some packing tape.

I began by cutting four sheets of cardboard down to the size that I wanted my finished board to be. There is nothing magic about having four sheets. The stack of cardboard simply needs to be thick enough to prevent the tacks from coming through the wall.I glued these pieces together using craft glue and let them dry under some large books so that they would dry flat.

For fabric, I used the back portion from a man’s dress shirt. There is a surprising amount of fabric in the back of a man’s dress shirt, and since stains normally occur on the front, the back is perfectly good fabric. I cut my cardboard to accommodate the fabric that was available in the dress shirt shown above. While I was waiting for the cardboard to dry, I used my fabric scissors to remove the back panel from the shirt. I ironed it flat and set it aside.

When the cardboard was sufficiently dry, I further strengthened it by taping the edges of the four pieces together with packing tape. Then, beginning on one side, I began to stretch the shirt across the front of the board, pulling the edges of the fabric around to the back and stapling them down. I worked my way around all four sides until the fabric was completely tacked down. As an additional measure of security, I covered all the edges of the fabric with tape. At this point, all the board truly needed was a hanger for the back. The items in the photo to the right show some of the less expensive options. The metal strip is actually the cutting edge from an aluminum foil box that was cut down and shaped to be a hanger. This board is so light-weight that I actually hung it on a door with masking tape, and that seems to be working fine.

Instead of hanging my board right away, I wanted to add a decorative edge and make matching tacks. I began by fusing a scrap of white T-shirt to a piece of heavy interfacing using Pellon. I made a paper pattern of flower petals to the size I needed, traced it onto the interfacing to make twelve flowers, and cut them out. I put a thin layer of bonding cement on the back of each tack and pushed them through the centers of the flowers. Then I glued a small, yellow dress shirt button to the top of each tack. Black embroidery floss and some wooden ladybugs completed the decorations that I added to the board.

The thought that struck me while I was working on this project was that there are no note boards in heaven! My God is omniscient, which means He knows everything. Act 15:18 tells us, “Known unto God are all his works from the beginning of the world.” “… he knoweth what is in the darkness…” (Dan. 2:22b). “Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in His sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of Him with whom we have to do” (Heb. 4:13). He tells us, “For I know the things that come into your mind, every one of them” (Ezek. 11:5). “Even our secret sins are known to God” (Ps. 90:8), and “He knoweth the way that I take” (Job 23:10). I only know of one thing that He ever says He will forget. To those who have accepted the redemption purchased for us by the blood of His Son Jesus Christ He says, “This is the covenant that I will make with them after those days, saith the Lord, I will put my laws into their hearts, and in their minds will I write them; and their sins and iniquities will I remember no more” (Heb. 10:16-17). May your note board serve to remind you of this wonderful attribute of God!

This entry was posted in New Life for Cardboard, New Life for Dress Shirts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

