INEXPENSIVE CHRISTMAS WRAP

Each year at Christmas time, I give gifts of specialty breads to those who teach my children at church. The only problem with a food gift like a baked good is that it can cause some problem in the wrapping department. This year, I wrapped the loaves in aluminum foil and looked around for a way to dress them up. I began by taking a sheet of wax paper and crumpling it up. I spread it back out and used a paper towel to dab gold acrylic paint over its surface. After it dried, I wrapped the paper around the bread loaf just like a package. Next, I used a piece of gold mesh ribbon. This is what I had on hand, but any other gold ribbon remnant would have been fine. Since pieces of recycled ribbon are not always very long, I did not try to tie a bow; I simply wrapped it around the middle and secured it on the back with a length of packing tape. The package did not look quite right without a bow, so I came up with another idea to make the package look more finished. I save old Christmas cards. They are so pretty that it seems a shame not to find another use for them after the season is over. I went through my collection and came up with some small images that had gold trim to match the gold of the paint and ribbon. I cut these out, glued a new back piece onto them so that I could write my “to” and “from” and attached them to the ribbon on the top of the bread. I was quite pleased with the way the finished wrapping job came out, and I think it would work just as well with silver paint and accents if that is what you have on hand.

This entry was posted in New Life for Paper and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

