GOD’S GIFT ORNAMENT

This is by far my favorite ornament of the week! In my original “trash pile” photo from the beginning of the week, there is a small container with a red bottom and a clear top which I think used to hold a pair of ladies’ knee-high stockings. I loved this container and thought it would make a wonderful ornament with a winter scene in it when I was struck with another possibility. I happened to have a small plastic baby like the ones sold in craft stores for baby shower decorations. I was delighted when I found that the baby was small enough to fit into the container. I took a very old piece of cotton cloth and literally ripped a small strip from its edge. I wrapped the baby up in the cloth and glued the fabric down in the back. I also glued a small amount of excelsior moss into the bottom of the container and then glued the baby into the center of this “bed”. I have a wood burning tool which I used to melt a small hole in top of the clear dome portion of the container, but an ice pick held in a candle flame until it is hot will also work. I did purchase some ribbon for this ornament because I wanted a specific look, but you might have leftover ribbon which would work just as well. I formed a loop and a bow with the ribbon and snapped the ornament together. There was just one other problem that I had to work out, and that was that I had to come up with some way to cover the recycling symbol on the top of the ornament. That is when I thought of the gift label which you can see in the picture to the right. I wrote it out and glued it in place.

I love this ornament because it really does boil the point of the whole season down to this one message, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). Because this Son was born, lived, and eventually died for the sins of mankind, we can have an eternal home in heaven with God. If He had not come, we would be condemned to eternal torment separated from God. It is for this reason that we celebrate. “Joy to the world, the LORD is come!”

This entry was posted in New Life for Plastic Containers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

