PLASTIC BAG AND BUTTER TUB BREAD BASKET

I have been back at the plastic bags and butter tub lids again! This time, I was trying to come up with an inexpensive bread basket, and the end result was rather nice!

For this project I used two large plastic lids, like those found on tubs of margarine, and twelve smaller ones from products like sour cream, chip dip, and cottage cheese. I also used a substantial number of shopping bags. Though the exact number needed will vary from person to person due to individual crafting differences, about twenty-five to thirty bags should be sufficient. The color of the bags is a personal choice, but I like the brown ones which mimic the look of a basket better.

I took my plastic bags and prepared them for crocheting. Then I prepared the rings.  Finally, I was ready to crochet!

The next step is to crochet a center for each ring with the plarn made from the plastic bags. Pretty much any round motif which ends up slightly smaller than the interior of the ring should be OK. I used a size f hook (I crochet rather tightly so it might be necessary to use a different hook size) to crochet the following:

For each small ring –

Ch 4; join with sl st in first ch to form a ring.

Round 1 (right side) Ch 1,[sc in ring, ch 6] 8 times; join with sl st in the first sc.

Round 2 Sl st in first 3 chs of first ch-6 sp, ch 1, (sc, ch 3) in same ch-6 space and in each ch-6 space around, join with sl st in first sc.

Round 3 Ch1,(sc, ch 7, sc in same sc , ch 5) in each sc around, join with sl st in first sc. Fasten off and weave in end.

For the large ring –

Make a small ring pattern, but do not fasten off after round 3.

Round 4 Sl st in first 3 chs of first ch-7 sp, ch 1, sc in same ch-7 sp; * (ch 4, sc, ch 5, sc, ch 4, sc) in same ch-7 sp, ch 2, sc in next ch-5 sp, ch 2; **sc in next ch-7 sp; repeat from * six (6) times more. Repeat from * to ** one (1) time more; join with sl st to first sc. Fasten off and weave in end.

To attach the crochet to the rings, I simply linked the plarn to the ring with a slip stitch, then slip stitched through one of the eight longer loops of the pattern. I continued to make slip stitches around the ring, going through another loop of the pattern after every ten slip stitches. The larger ring took nearer fifteen slip stitches between every loop of the patten. After the ring was covered and the pattern was attached, I fastened off the plarn and ran it under the previous stitches.

To form the basket, I attached the finished rings together with masking tape as shown in the above photo. Then I covered the masking tape with more strips of the plastic bag. Since the basket is actually held together with the masking tape, and the plastic strips are only decorative, I simply tucked the end of the strip under the wrapped section until I was fairly certain it would not come loose. This is the finished basket.

I think it would have been impossible for me to work on a project like a bread basket without reflecting on all the verses in Scripture which exhort us to practice hospitality to one another (like I Peter 4:9 and Romans 12:13). But I must confess that my mind spent more time on the wonderful fact that our Savior is the “Bread of Life”. Consider His words in John 6:35: “And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst”. What and incredible promise! While this verse is talking about food for our souls and not our bodies, I hope you will be reminded of it each time you pass your own bread basket around the table. May your mind and soul be satisfied with Him!

This entry was posted in New Life for Plastic Lids, New Life for Plastic Shopping Bags and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to PLASTIC BAG AND BUTTER TUB BREAD BASKET

  1. Laina says:

    I love your basket! Thanks for sharing your pattern! You’re very creative! I’ve been studying 1,2 & 3rd John this past couple of months and John focused on love and hospitality. This is a great basket to serve bread in before guests. I can’t wait to make one. I need to go shopping first so I’ll have the dark tan plastic bags. 🙂

    I love your beautiful thoughts about Jesus, our bread of life. I will always remember this when I use this basket, once I make it.

    May our Father bless you with Shalom!

    Laina 🙂

  2. Laina, Thank you for your very kind comment! It is my pleasure to share both the pattern for the basket and the things that I am learning about our Savior. May your basket turn out lovely and your hospitality be such as will bring honor to our Lord! God bless you.

  3. Pingback: How to Make a Basket From a Plastic Butter Tub | Culture - Popular Question & Answer

  4. Liz Thomas says:

    What industry and what a beautiful basket! God tld us to be good stewards and what a good steward you are. I will try and make one of these. If I don’t manage a whole basket, the individual stars will look good as Christmas stars. Thank you and God bless you. Liz T

  5. Pingback: My New Bread Basket – Kate Moore-Freeman

  6. Pingback: Dreamcatchers Made from Plastic – Kate Moore-Freeman

Leave a Reply

