FREE STORAGE BAG

Have you ever looked at the plastic zippers at the top of your storage bags–and some produce packaging–and wondered if they could have a second chance at life? I got to wondering about that the other day (okay, I’m a little strange!), so I cut the zipper off a used bag, washed it up, and looked around in my stash of odds and ends (mostly odds!) for inspiration. I finally took some of my fused plastic bag scraps in hand and created this simple underwater scene. The blue came from a dry cleaner bag, the green from some produce bags, and the rest from regular shopping bags. (Previous post on fusing plastic bags). I sewed the pieces together and put in the two side seams with my sewing machine, but the zipper was too difficult to do on the machine, so I sewed it in by hand. In the end, I have a wonderfully cute little bag to hold my smaller crafting supplies–for free!

This entry was posted in New Life for Plastic Shopping Bags. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

