FREE DENIM POT HOLDER

Years ago, when my children were toddlers, I saved the pockets from the backs of their worn-out jeans. Why? I don’t know! I guess I thought they were cute. At any rate, I pulled two of them out of my pile of denim scraps the other day and thought they would make a nice mini pot holder for retrieving things out of the microwave. I added two oval sections of denim from the leg of a worn-out pair of jeans and a corresponding remnant of felted wool sweater and headed to my sewing machine. Placing the denim ovals right sides together, I sewed around the edges, leaving an opening for turning them right-side-out. After I turned them right-side-out, I inserted the wool piece and sewed the opening closed. The wool was to be my layer of insulation, but I could also have used pieces of old cotton sweatshirts or any other thick cloth made of a natural fiber (synthetic fibers will melt). I placed the pockets on top of this pad, one at either end with their tops towards the center. At the last minute, I also decided to add a belt loop to one end so that I could hang the holder between uses. I pinned everything in place and then stitched through all the layers, using the gold-colored thread normally used on denim and a heavy needle. This design allows the user to cover most of the hand while moving hot plates and cups. I liked it so much that I may make some larger ones to use with my oven!

This entry was posted in New Life for Denim and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

