NEW JAR CANDLES FROM OLD WAX

I like the smell of scented jar candles, and we generally have a number of them on hand for special occasions. After the wick has burned all the way to the bottom, there is usually some wax left on the sides of the jar. I recycle this into a new jar candle. The wax in this picture from a candle that smelled like cookie dough. I added the stubs from some taper candles and some small bits of a brown crayon (I wanted to change the color of the new candle to a deeper brown). For the new, smaller candle, I needed to have a smaller glass jar. For this particular candle, I chose to use an old coffee mug since I wanted to make the candle look like hot chocolate, but I have also used old canning jars and olive jars. I needed to have a new wick for my candle. I chose to purchase the waxed kind that already has its metal clip attached to the bottom. There is a special wax sold for adhering this into the bottom of the new container, but I just used some hot glue. (In this photo, it is glued into the bottom of an empty olive jar.) I used a spring-loaded clothes pin to keep the wick in place while I was pouring the wax. After the jar was prepared, I could melt down the old wax. I fashioned a double boiler by taking a fairly large, empty spaghetti sauce can and bending the top into a spout. I filled a pot half-full of water and put a canning jar ring in the bottom to keep the sauce can from sitting directly on the bottom of the pot. I filled the can with the wax remnants and placed it in the pot of water. I heated the water until the wax just melted. I did not want the wax to get too hot or it would melt the hot glue on the bottom of my wick when I poured it into the mug. I removed any old wicks or clips that had fallen to the bottom of the can and poured the melted wax into the mug until it was about two-thirds full. Then I let the wax harden. As wax cools, it tends to sink down in the middle of the candle near the wick. In order to overcome this, a second pouring of the wax was required after the first wax has hardened, so I waited several hours, remelted the wax, and poured it in over the “first pour.” Once again, I had to let the wax harden, but it was worth the wait! I removed the clothes pins and trimmed the wicks down to proper size. My mug now held a new candle which looked like hot chocolate in the cup, but smelled like cookies baking when it was burned! I make the decision to decorate the new candle based on how I plan to use it. As you can see in this photo, I turned the olive jar into a new candle (it smells like evergreen trees) and decorated it with paint, artificial greenery, and twine. It will probably be displayed during the holidays. The pink candle will only be used for emergencies, so I did not bother with too much trimming.

This project reminds me of Matthew 5:14-16, “Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hid. Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven”.

This entry was posted in New Life for Glass and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

