PLANT TRAY

I was looking at the bottom of a container of sweet rolls that we had been given this past week and noticed that the bottom of the container was molded just like the plant saucers sold in garden centers. It came complete with water wells and ridges that a pot could rest on to keep it out of the water. As it happened, I had been rooting several cuttings from my flowers, and I needed to plant them in soil to continue nurturing them. I cut a piece of plastic canvas to fit the bottom of the container, and it sat nicely on the plastic ridges. I made newspaper “pots”  and filled them with soil from my compost bin. I added the plants, placed them in the new tray, and moved them to a spot on my porch where they could continue to grow. Everything in this project was recycled except the plastic canvas and some masking tape!

This entry was posted in New Purpose for Plastic Containers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

