SIMPLE SALT AND PEPPER SHAKERS

If you have two small glass jars with lids, you have the makings for a very simple salt and pepper shaker set. My set started out as specialty mustard jars in a Christmas gift pack. All I had to do was remove the labels, clean the jars, and punch holes in the lids. I used a small nail and an ice pick to punch the holes, but I could just as easily have used a wood-burning tool. Decorating the set is entirely a personal matter, but they could be painted, etched, or covered in paper or fabric. Since I am planning to make some other kitchen items from old clothes, I decided to make my lids mimic the look of buttons. I might do more to them later, but right now, I like the simple lines of the glass.

It is difficult to work with salt and not be reminded that it is an illustration of how our lives are to be as Christians. “Ye are the salt of the earth: but if the salt have lost his savor, wherewith shall it be salted? it is thenceforth good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of men.” (Matthew 5:13) Our lives should have the distinct flavor of Christ in this life. We should be impacting others with His righteousness, holiness, mercy, love, and truth. I pray that my life will cause others around me to say, “O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.” (Psalm 34:8)

This entry was posted in New Life for Glass. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

