FREE LUGGAGE TAGS

These luggage tags are completely free! They are made of fused shopping bags, plastic from Christmas card packages, and the buckles from little girls’ dress shoes! It was a wonderful day for me when I read that shopping bags could be ironed to form a sort of fabric which can then be cut and sewn. I immediately set about working with the shopping bags I had on hand to see what could be made out of them. I cut off the bottom seams and handles and stacked them together between two pieces of parchment paper so that I could iron them. I ironed first one side and then the other, back and forth, until it seemed that the plastic had shrunk some and fused together. After some trial and error, I discovered that six shopping bags ironed together in a stack on a medium heat setting made a very tough, waterproof fabric with the texture of vinyl. The new material was very easy to cut and sew. I had the idea to try luggage tags because they are a small project that is easily finished in an afternoon. I was surprised at how well these turned out, and I am eager to see what else I can do with this material.

This entry was posted in New Life for Plastic Shopping Bags and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

