T-SHIRT BELT

I was at the dentist’s office when someone gave me the idea to crochet t-shirts! Many sports t-shirts (and under shirts) are put together without side seams. Once these t-shirts are stained or develop small holes, they can be giving new life by removing the bottom hem and then cutting a thin strip (1/4 inch) in a continuous spiral until you reach the sleeves (or any stiff decoration on the front). When this strip is stretched, it rolls itself into a kind of thread or “yarn” which can then be crocheted. My first effort with this was to cut up some old white t-shirts of my husband’s and then dye them with Kool-Aid. I needed a simple project to try out this new material so I settled on this single crochet belt with a D-ring buckle. The t-shirt “yarn” was a little stiffer to work with, but that may partly be because I tend to crochet very tightly. I want to experiment with this material a little more and see what else I can do with it.

This entry was posted in New Life for T-Shirts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

